The Perks of Being a Wallflower

My friend Will and I went to go and see The Perks of Being a Wallflower today and I thought that it was wonderful. Having read the majority of the book my only criticism would be the casting of Sam; I didn’t find Emma Watson particularly suited to the role, especially with her eyes being brown, not green. Some of the most beautiful quotes from the Perks of Being a Wallflower were from Charlie about Sam’s green eyes. One of my favorites, coincidentally, is “incidentally, Sam has brown hair and very very pretty green eyes. the kind of green that doesn’t make a big deal about itself.” and I think that specifies green eyes, but I suppose I’d be biased anyway.

Aside from that it was great, I thought the music was amazing, very good choices and that’s a rarity in today’s films. I was very impressed that Stephen Chbosky (the author, for any of you that are unfamiliar with his works) not only wrote the screenplay but directed the whole thing as well, I thought that gave it a definite feel of legitimacy against so many of these books whose screenplays are written by some famous rom-com playwright an directed by God-knows-who.

On another note, I’ve taken to studying outside a crazy amount, I love it, I always feel so much better than when I try to study in a cramped room. But because of this, out come the summer freckles!

20121020-150943.jpg

Hope all is well wherever you are

Leave a Reply

