Everest

I can’t believe how long it has been since I’ve written a personal update here, how time flies. The reason I’ve been gone for so long is that I only recently returned from the most phenomenal trip in Nepal, trekking to Everest Base Camp and with all the catch up I’ve had to do with both school, friends and family I simply haven’t had even the tiniest moment to catch up here, but now I can consider myself fully back in the loop.

So for just over half a month, 30-odd not-always-so-happy hikers struggled through the harsh Nepali landscapes, battling altitude sickness, homesickness, tears and arguments right the way to the 5,364 metre high Everest Base Camp, searing memories into the backs of eyelids and scrawling names on to rocks. No words can fully comprehend the beauty that we experienced in such abundance, even photos taken on the best cameras seemed cheap as you checked the scrawny digital screen and compared it to the glory that sat in front of you. Quadriceps burned as flat ground turned to hills and hills turned quite literally into Mount Everest, with the amount of times we said “I want to go home” being so desperately infinite that it was surprising to all that any of us had a good time.

Maybe some photos will better convey the trip, as recalling it brings back too many floods of quasi-traumatic memories, so here you go.

NMP_6242 NMP_5913-1 NMP_6383 NMP_6367 NMP_6603 NMP_6696 NMP_6700 NMP_6728-1 NMP_6757NMP_7213-1NMP_6883NMP_6914NMP_6992-1NMP_7027NMP_7052NMP_7081

NMP_7072-1NMP_7075NMP_7140NMP_7155NMP_7210NMP_7248NMP_7297NMP_7328NMP_7340NMP_7032

NMP_7119

NMP_7241-1NMP_7081

In no particular order, I present my Everest trip in its most stunning visuospatial form. I want to give thanks to my phenomenal family, I am the first Gray descendant to do many things but my grandmother told me that if she had ever known that a grandchild of hers would make it up to the base camp of the tallest mountain in the world, she would never have believed it and to be honest if someone had told me a year ago that I would be the first to summit both Kalapatthar and Everest Base Camp, I would have laughed. It shows how much you can achieve, it still takes my breath away looking at these images and knowing that my seventeen year old self was there, had these experiences, is just absolutely fantastic.

That is all from me for now, so as always, love and light to you all,

Samantha.

ps. Only just noticing the amount of photos that have my best friend in them, I just wanted to mention him here because I could not and would not have made it without him nor would I be a fraction of the person that I am without his unconditional friendship. We did it!

Leave a Reply

