Independence Day

Today

my country lost the chance

to be the only ever

peacetime independence,

a country born from

bravery today stood in

cowardice,

today,

I am ashamed.

Today, I watched

world leaders belittle my

nation into no more than

an extension of England

as my own people cheered,

pale blue skin and

freckled faces, for the first

time in the history of

logic,

chose to stand by our

invaders of 1296,

tell me your logic as the

people of Tibet immolate

for their right to sovereignty,

the people of the Palestine,

Kurdistan, bombs fall

and children die, and

Scotland rejects

independence.

Leave a Reply

