Years in the Making

This is a love poem for the days that I don’t want to

love you.

This is a poem to remind me that for

fourteen years

we have put up with one another and that for

every day

of those many, many years, I have wanted to see

your face.

This is to remind me that for every time you hurt

my feelings,

that you made me feel wanted and loved one

thousand times

over and that those feelings are invaluable, they are jewels,

a diamond

in the rough, edges washed smooth by the ocean, you are

the tides

that never fall short, every wave landing exactly where

it must.

This is the poem that will remind me that there is no space in

this heart

where I don’t want to love you, and thank you, my darling, for always

loving me.

Leave a Reply

